blog

Broken computer + FOs

You know those days where it feels like nothing goes according to plan? I’ve had a string of days like that for the past couple months. After my last post, I got to work on some blog-related things that I had pushed to the side, and I was really excited to start blogging regularly again. However, the universe decided to give me and my enthusiasm a swift kick in the ribs in the form of my PC failing. No matter what I did, I couldn’t get it to stay on for longer than a few seconds; not even enough time to get to the BIOS menu!

Fortunately, I’ve since figured out what was wrong and fixed it. After waiting over a month on a warranty claim for the wrong part. And replacing another part that wasn’t broken. And then finding out it was a part that I had a replacement for all along. Computers are complicated… (Turned out the pump in my water cooler failed, by the way.)

The good news is I’m back and hoping to catch up with my blog, assuming everything plays out as planned. (Cautiously optimistic…)

With that said, I wanted to share some of the things I’ve been working on these past couple months. Firstly, I’ve been writing a new pattern and prepping one for posting that I wrote ages ago. I won’t reveal what they are just yet, but I’m very excited to finally share them.

I’ve also been practicing handspinning with my DIY drop spindle. My first time spinning was a blobby mess, which disheartened me a little. I ended up shoving my spindle and roving into the back of my closet and forgetting about it for a few months. I pulled it out again a couple weeks ago, determined to make some progress. I’m now able to spin rather fine singles that I’m going to be plying into a finished yarn. Hoping to have a post out about that soon!

Last but not least, I have some FOs to share! Excuse the bad quality of these pictures. I had to use my phone to take them before gifting since I couldn’t use my PC to get the pictures off my Canon.

20170501_174308-01 Years and years ago, I bought a crochet water bottle cozy from a lady at a local craft festival. My dad has said ever since that he wished he had one, so I went ahead and made one for him!

This pattern is simply called Water Bottle Cozy, and it’s free on Ravelry. The original pattern had a pretty small strap on it, so I altered it just a bit so that it was longer to accommodate my dad’s larger build and wider so that it wouldn’t stretch out of shape like my old one did.

I just used plain ol’ Red Heart (in Light Sage) for this, as I had a ton of it just sitting in my stash. I don’t know where it came from, but I had like 3 skeins worth of it… Yup.

20170621_102725-01

And I finally worked up a crochet version of the famous Jayne Cobb hat! This one was for my dad for Father’s Day. I’ve wanted to knit myself one of these for ages and ages though! I opted for the crochet version because I started it at the last minute and needed something that would work up fast. I’m definitely going to get some yarn in the correct colors and properly knit one up for me. I need one.

I found this Jayne Cobb Hat crochet pattern for free on Ravelry. The lady who wrote it also has a knitted pattern available. I made this one using Red Heart again (Light Sage and Cafe, I think?) and decided to use the green and brown because my dad told me he prefers earthy colors.

IMG_20170607_101545_063

This last one, I’ve made once before for someone else. I finally got around to making one for me, just in time for me to read Harry Potter again.

I actually made two in an effort to use up the last of that awful cro-sheen yarn I bought just for this project. I gifted the second one, but haven’t yet heard how the recipient liked it.

You can find the pattern on Ravelry for free. I used one ball each of J&P Coats Metallic Knit-Cro-Sheen in white/silver and gold/gold. It’s difficult to spot in the pictures, but there’s a strand of metallic stuff twisted with the yarn. It gives it a really cool look, but that stuff was a nightmare to crochet with. I kept splitting the metallic part from the yarn by accident or unwinding it somehow. Ugh.

I have a couple WIPs I’m working on right now, but I’m going to wait until next time to share those~

4 thoughts on “Broken computer + FOs

  1. Oh I hate when something goes wrong with my computer. I have ended up doing the same thing as you with spending a lot of time, effort and money trying to figure out which part needed replacing. Glad to see you were able to fix it. I need to make myself a water bottle holder – that’s really cute! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For a Jayne Hat, I’ve found that Vanna’s Choice in Mustard, Rust, and Cranberry work well. It’s what I use for my Jayne Hat and Scarves. I love the switch to sage and coffee! Those are some of my favorite colors!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, thanks for the yarn recommendation! I’ve read a lot about the different brands of yarn that people use. I had almost decided on Lion Brand Thick & Quick, but I’ll definitely compare it to Vanna’s Choice before making a decision. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

