blog

FO: Hermione’s Everyday Socks

Ugh, I hate how long it takes me to post my WIP and FO entries! My main problem is that when I sit down to take pictures of my projects, I end up deleting them because they come out too dark, among other things. The lighting in my house is just so bad, I think I’m going to have to buy a lamp or something just for photoshoots. 😐

IMG_2030

At any rate, I finally finished my pair of Hermione’s Everyday Socks! I am so thrilled with how these have come out. They fit me perfectly and are so comfortable. I’ve never worn socks made specifically for my feet before, but I really want to replace all of my store-bought socks with handknit socks; that’s how amazing they are!

T did a great job picking out the yarn as well. I love the way the colors came out, and it was so nice to work with. I’ve never worked with yarn that has nylon before so having that stretch to it was new for me.

Not too long ago, I wrote a post with my top 10 favorite knitting patterns. I mentioned that I’d feel like a knitting master once I make them all. I can finally tick these babies off the list; only nine more to go!

IMG_2032

15 thoughts on “FO: Hermione’s Everyday Socks

  1. I know the struggle of trying to photograph things in a dark house. I have a couple of those tall laundry hampers and I’ll turn one of those over and set it beneath my brightest window (it’s in my bedroom) and take the pictures (for small items). For larger items, I can put them on the corner of my bed with curtains wide open. But, this time of year, we have an air conditioning unit in the bedroom window and that makes it dark. Often, I’ll end up taking things outside to photograph.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been thinking about taking pictures outside. I don’t really have any nice places in the yard to take pictures, but I’m thinking about hitting some of the parks around here for photoshoots. ^^’

      Like

  2. These socks are currently at the top of my Ravelry queue! I’m happy to hear the pattern worked out well for you. I’m trying to not start them until I finish my lace monstrosity but its been so long since I’ve knit socks I may have to start them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice! They’ve turned out really well, and there’s nothing like the cosiness of home-made socks! As for your light dilemma, why not try making a simple lightbox? There are heaps of videos on YouTube to help, and most of the stuff you’ll need is cheap, free, or most likely already in your house πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you!

      Thanks for the advice! I’ve seen DIY lightboxes and lighting kits, I just haven’t scraped up the money to buy the lamps yet. ^^’
      I’m thinking about doing a tripod lighting set up so that I can use it for videos as well, but I’m definitely going to make a lightbox in the near future. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! I generally use Snapseed for pictures I edit on my phone, but it’s a real pain to have to take pictures using my DSLR then transfer them to the computer and again to the phone just for editing. I’ll be checking those apps out though for the pictures I take with my phone though! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I have the same problem at my cave – ahem- apartment but I’ve been able to take visible pictures by aiming a two desk lamps at my project and snapping away.

    There is absolutely nothing like socks that fit like gloves – except maybe really fab looking socks that fit like a glove, which these definitely are πŸ˜€ If you’re looking to hang out with other sock enthusiasts you should join us for Sock Thursdays. It’s a great way to stay on track with sock projects and get to ogle other people’s socks πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. They look beautiful! the colour really is amazing too 😊 I’m the same as you, I would gladly replace all my current socks with hand knitted ones, they are just so comfortable and so much prettier!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

