blog · life

Here I am!

Do you ever have that feeling like you’re living someone else’s life? Things have been so crazy lately, I seem to feel like that all the time now.
It’s been 3 months since I last visited my own blog, and I feel so bad that I haven’t had the time. But I don’t think I’m going to apologize for it. Life happens and sometimes things have to be put to the side.

I’m not going to go into a whole lot of detail about what’s been going on since it’s a pretty private matter and involves others that wouldn’t appreciate me talking about it openly. But it has nothing to do with my well-being or my marriage so there’s no need to worry about me. Though I will say that my sister needs any prayers/good vibes that you can spare to send her way. I would appreciate that. ❤

Regardless, I’ve been doing pretty well. I’ve managed to stick to my workout regime, and I’ve lost more weight. I’m creeping on closer to my goal! I’m hoping I can reach it by the end of this year, but this plateau has been hard to overcome. I still have time though, and I’m still very pleased with my progress; I could make a child with the 45 lbs I’ve lost so far, ha ha!

I did have a scary experience over the past month though. My mother never told me this, but she used to have hemiplegic migraines when I was a child. Apparently she passed the genetic mutation that causes this down to me, and I had my first one several weeks ago.
I woke up one morning with a splitting headache. I noticed that I was really sensitive to light and sound so I thought it was just a normal migraine. Several minutes later, it was like half of my mind just shut off. I found I was having a hard time remembering words, and I couldn’t speak well. I tried to use my phone to look up migraines and see if I was having some rare symptoms, but when I tried to type “migraine” into Google, I couldn’t focus on and recognize the letters on my keyboard or even begin to spell the word “migraine”. (I looked at my search history later; I had somehow come up with “meargrynot”.)
T came in to check on me and could tell that something was wrong. I (attempted) to tell him that I thought I was having a migraine and that I couldn’t spell migraine anymore to look it up. Shortly after that, my arm, one half of my face, and my tongue went numb, one after the other. I scared the pants off him, and he packed me up into the car to take me to the hospital, afraid that I was having a stroke.

Long story short, I ended up not going to the hospital, but I was visited by paramedics who checked me over real quick and assured us it wasn’t a stroke. I talked T into just taking me to the store to get some migraine medicine, then I went home and went back to sleep. Several hours later, I woke up feeling a lot better. Still had a bad headache (That lingered for 3 or 4 more days.), but I could speak, read, and write as normal. I still had to take it easy for about a week after that, but I’ve since made a full recovery. If only my mom had told me about this ahead of time, we wouldn’t have been so freaked out!

Besides all of this mess, I have been knitting and crocheting as normal, and I have several projects that I’ll be sharing over the next few days. I’m so excited to finally get back to blogging and showing off my newest crafties!

Thanks for reading this mess of an entry! I guess all I’m trying to say is “Here I am, and I’m not dead!” XD

13 thoughts on “Here I am!

    1. Well, I was going to the hospital until the paramedics came around and checked my blood pressure and such. Once they verified it wasn’t a stroke, I thought it would really suck to go to the hospital, be charged $3000 and given an expensive prescription for migraine medicine, when I could just run to the store and pick up some for $4. 🙂

      Like

  1. oh good grief, as if migraines in and of themselves aren’t horrible enough, they come with that lovely side effect for the rare “lucky ones”? Yikes! I’m glad you figured out what was going on and that you’re okay

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks~
      And I know, right? I’ve only had a (ordinary) migraine once in my life and that was plenty for me.
      The stroke-like symptoms only lasted an hour or so, after that it felt like a normal migraine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

