blog

Where did all the time go!?

Oh my gosh, I can’t believe it’s been nearly two weeks since I’ve written anything! I’ve been very busy lately, and a ton of unexpected situations, a mix of good and bad, have kept me from having much time to spend at home. I haven’t even touched my computer since Sunday!

I’m still here though, and I’m still working on all of the things that I’ve written about in the past. I’ve finished test knitting one of my patterns; now I need to take some pictures and put the finishing touches on the written directions. I’ve put a lot of time, effort, and thought into this project so I’m very proud of it. And I’m excited to announce that it will be my first paid pattern!

It took me a long time to come to this decision. I’ve seen a discouraging amount of people react negatively to the idea of paying for patterns, but if the pattern requires a lot of time and effort on the part of the author, I think it’s fair to compensate them for their time. Especially if the pattern is detailed. I wouldn’t spend money on a pattern that only has written directions, honestly, but step-by-step pictures and tutorials on any special techniques are worth at least a couple dollars, in my opinion. And it may help someone keep a little yarn on the hook/needles for future projects. 🙂

(Of course I intend to continue posting free patterns as well, and none of the patterns I’ve released previously will ever be sold!)

Besides that, I’ve also been writing some knitting and crochet lessons. I’ve just about finished the written portion; I just have to set aside an afternoon for the necessary photoshoot. It may be a while yet before I can release any of that, but hopefully I’ll have more time in the coming weeks to work on it.

I feel bad that this entry is basically just a “checking in” post, but I promise that I’ll have pictures of some of my current WIPs next time. 😉

13 thoughts on “Where did all the time go!?

  1. I hope the unexpected situations have resolved themselves positively.

    Looking forward to seeing your pattern design. It frustrated me to read about the negativity you’ve experienced because of your plan to sell rather than give away your pattern. Sadly I think people have forgotten the value of an individuals intellect, skill, talent and time, thinking they have the right to download, copy, reuse anything they see on line, without thought for copyright, ownership or cost to the person they’ve taken the content from.

    Fingers crossed that your pattern is success 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I really appreciate the support! 🙂

      Luckily the negative comments were never directed at me; it was mostly just gleaned from conversations I’ve had with other knitters and such. But I guess they must be the minority. 🙂

      Like

    1. Luckily no one has really given any trouble to me specifically about the idea of selling my patterns, but I’ve spoken to other knitters/crocheters who offhandedly mentioned how they don’t like to buy patterns. A couple even said that it leaves them with a negative impression about the designer. 😦

      But I’ve spoken to more people who do support paid patterns than not so I’m definitely going to go ahead with my pattern. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I knit a lot of free patterns, as a knitter on a budget, but I also have no problem paying for patterns that are more complicated, unusual, special. And yeah, definitely if you’re adding tutorials! Good luck with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀
      I don’t get to buy patterns often because I don’t have a whole lot to spend right now. But I’ve got my eye on a bunch; I’m just waiting for the chance, ha ha! ^^’

      Like

  3. I can’t wait to see the pattern!!! There is so much negativity about paid for patterns and I don’t really understand it! I don’t think there is any reason why you shouldn’t value your time and charge for the pattern. 🙂 I hope that life calms down a bit so you get more knitting time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry it took me so long to approve and respond to your comment! Life forced me to take a break from blogging for all these months.

      But thank you! I really appreciate your words of encouragement. I’m working on the pattern still so hopefully I can release it soon. I just need to find the time to make the final push, ha ha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

