blog

So many ideas, so little time!

First of all, thank you to everyone who commented on my last entry! It was great hearing your thoughts and opinions, and I really appreciate all of your support~ ❀

I’m way excited to start writing more informative blog posts. Getting all my ducks in a row is proving to be a little more time-consuming than I thought. I have all of these ideas pouring out of my head, and I’ve somehow managed to write them all down. Now I’m in the process of sorting through them. It’s not easy choosing what should stay and what should go, let me tell you! XD

But it does feel nice have a goal that I can aim for. I’m definitely one of those people that gets more done when I have a clearly laid out plan. In some ways, planning everything out can be a bad thing because I end up taking too much time, but I find that it saves time in other ways, especially in the long run, when I take a little longer to organize.

At any rate, I have a question for y’all! I’m quite torn about which way I want to go for teaching some of the more complicated aspects of knitting/crochet. When I’m learning a new technique, I like watching videos on the subject more than reading written tutorials with pictures. It feels easier for me to commit it to memory if I can see the action actually being performed, and I often have a hard time following along with only pictures to guide me. But that may just be me. ^^’

So my question is, when you’re learning something new, do you prefer a video or a picture tutorial? I made this handy poll so that you can tell me your opinion in two quick clicks, but if you don’t mind elaborating on your choice in the comments, I’d love to read that as well!

Thank you again to everyone who reads, follows, and comments on my blog! Every time I see your comments or read your own blogs, I feel like the knitting/crochet community must be the best in the world, ha ha! πŸ˜€

35 thoughts on “So many ideas, so little time!

  1. I shall throw a spanner in the works (because I’m me) I don’t even like pictures, I have them on my tutorials because I know lots of visual learners but I just like words, I will then mutter at the instructions for a while and the instructions get into my brain via the ear. This did lead to some issues shortly after marrying Crochet Widower when he thought my “list making” mutters were me giving HIM instructions (he does not speak unless necessary).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha, I mutter while I’m working too! It confuses T to no end. He says that it sounds angry when I do it. XD

      But thanks for giving me your opinion on this! I’m definitely a visual learner when it comes to new techniques. When I first learned how to crochet, for example, I couldn’t figure out how to sc into the chain until it was shown to me. I just couldn’t understand the written instructions. Most recently, I couldn’t figure out how to do a ssk in knitting until I saw it on YouTube. But once I learn how to do all the special techniques in a pattern, I’m fine with text-based patterns. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know if this is suppose to be anonymous but I chose video tutorials! I agree that it makes it so much easier to see. That being said – creating video tutorials can take a lot of work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nope, you’re good. I just put the poll up for ease more than anonymity. πŸ™‚
      I know what you mean about videos being hard work. I’ve had some experience with shooting and editing my own videos before so luckily I won’t have to learn all of that from scratch! XD

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m probably an oddball here, but I actually prefer to have both. Some things are just better when seeing them in writing, some in pictures, some in video. Usually if it’s something that stumps me, I prefer to be able to compare between those to get a better handle on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I can totally understand that. Even though videos are my go-to method, I’ve found some well-worded written tutorials that were just as good. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for commenting! πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. you’re welcome. I’m usually a visual learner, myself. I’ve found, though, that not all videos are created equal and that it can be really difficult to get just the right angle to show what’s needed. That’s why I prefer having the ability to cross-reference πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m definitely starting to lean toward doing pictures and video, now that you say that. I can totally see how they’d be useful to have together. πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. i voted! i prefer detailed videos, but i hate videos where (1) unclear, not 1080 HD (2) the color yarn used is not easy to follow with (3) lots of excessive talking. When I’m searching for a tutorial on a new stitch, I want to learn it quickly, and some videos people talk for literally 5 minutes before the actual tutorial began. I’m about to start my own vlogging too, so i can teach my friends crochet. So i’m looking at my favorite videos and taking what I use from them. I also like the more detailed the better! CrochetCrowd is great at this. Good luck vlogging! love from https://heartofthehealerblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I definitely agree with all three of your points! I understand that everyone may not be in a situation where they can own a camera that records hi-def, but it can get very agitating when you can’t tell what’s going on due to poor video quality. Or poor choice in yarn/background color. 😦

      Thanks so much for commenting! I’ll definitely be keeping all of this in mind if I end up going the video tutorial route. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really hope you might do knitting. i never seem to find any decent knitting videos. but whatever path you choose! I hope all these tidbits helped, and i know what you mean about the camera – i don’t take the best pictures. lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m definitely intending to do both knitting and crochet. Maybe switching which one I make a video for on a weekly basis. I don’t really have that part figured out yet. ^^’

        Liked by 1 person

      3. To be honest, I only recently learned how to do socks myself so I’m not sure if I’m qualified to help anyone with that at the moment, ha ha! ^^’

        So I think I’ll be sticking with very basic videos initially; how to do different types of stitches, how to knit in the round, etc. Once I have a better knowledge of sock knitting, I’d love to have the opportunity of making videos about that. πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. They each have their uses, right now I don’t work often with speakers on my computer so something written is more useful to me. A video with stills taken from it to illustrate a written tutorial might be the best of both worlds ?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I like pictures and descriptions better just because I hate having to pause videos and restart them while I try the technique. I think videos are easier to see what’s going on but I have a harder time actually following them because I want to pause and back up the video the whole time. I think pictures and directions can be just as good if they’re clearly written.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I learned most of what I know from watching videos as well. πŸ™‚
      One thing that I love about YouTube is that you can slow down the video as much as you need to really get a good look at what’s going on. But when I try learning from people in real life, they often go way too fast for me to see what they’re doing. ^^’

      Like

  7. If I’m working with my hands, pictures are best since I can read at my own pace. Kind of messes up my flow if I have to stop what I’m doing and pause a video, or miss something important and have to rewind to find what I missed. Kind of annoying.

    With that said, I try to add video with my blogs because I know a lot of people do appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m gonna be extra difficult and say both! I like to read through written instructions with photo aides and then if I get stuck watch the video just to see it from start to finish πŸ™‚ I agree with Nit Nax’s comment, I find stopping and starting the video annoying if I’m attempting to knit at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I definitely prefer photos and written instructions. I also don’t run with my sound on all of the time, and having to hunt through the video to find the part I actually need and keep pausing and rewinding…. argh! The other thing to consider is a lot of people like to knit on the go, or in a comfy chair. I find I can save a pic or written instruction to my phone or print it out, so I don’t have to sit in front of my computer to work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good point! I don’t have a printer myself so I hadn’t really considered printing as an option, to be honest. I’ll be thinking about that too. Thanks for commenting! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

