blog

I want this to turn into something useful.

It’s been over a week since I’ve written a post and I feel so bad!
I’ve been working hard on two new knitting patterns, and I’ve been so focused on those that I haven’t thought to write anything. But I do have a project that I’m finishing up and excited to share. Hopefully that will be up within a couple days.

In the meantime, I’ve been thinking really hard about which direction I want my blog to move in. Of course I intend to continue posting patterns, projects, and general yarn-related chitchat, but I’ve always been the type of person who wants to help others. I wanted from the beginning to use my blog to help others in some way, and I think that a plan is starting to form.

It wasn’t very long ago when I found myself venturing into the yarn section for the first time. I can remember clearly how I felt when I came face-to-face with all the brands, types, and weights that were for sale. It was intimidating, to say the very least.
I felt the same way when I first started looking at knitting needles and, to a lesser extent, crochet hooks for the first time. Luckily, I had someone to help me out with my first knitting choices, but I can’t even count how many times I’ve seen people struggling in the craft store as the sales associates tell them that they have no idea how knitting/crochet works. (I’ve stepped in and helped people before because I felt so bad that they couldn’t get any help!)

I guess here’s where I’m going with this: I want to start a series geared toward helping new yarnies find which way is up when they take the plunge into knitting/crochet. I don’t how many people I can help with my little blog, but even if it helps out a couple people, it’s worth it to me. 🙂

I still have a bit more planning to do, but I’m thinking that I’ll make my first beginner series post in the next few weeks. I’m really looking forward to writing it, and I hope that it goes well~<3

17 thoughts on “I want this to turn into something useful.

  1. I understand the desire to figure out what direction you want a blog to go in…I’ve gone through multiple blogs over the years trying to find my Blog Voice…

    It helps with this one, for me, to have an Etsy shop attached to it, but I do have another blog that I’m working on that’s in a different direction…kinda…sorta…undefineda…

    I hope you find your full direction! I’ve been enjoying following! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I really appreciate that. 😀
      I’ve had several people suggest that I open an Etsy shop, but I’m not sure yet if it’s something that I can do. I have given it some thought though. 🙂

      Like

      1. If you do something on Etsy, just be prepared for the fact that it takes some time to really build anything for multiple reasons including truly finding a niche, perfecting product descriptions, and what I’m working on right now, making your photos really appealing to customers instead of just yourself. It takes time, but I’ll say this: Every sale I make makes me feel this big, warm, fuzzy glow inside of even the smallest amount of pride and happiness because I did it. I made it. I posted it. I sold it. There is also the cost to keep in mind. Etsy is one of the lowest costs for crafters to list at $0.20 to list a listing every 4 months, as well as a percentage of the sale…but again, this is one of the lowest costs you’ll find for starting a craft business. If you do start one, let us know! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yeah. I figured it would be something that would take a lot of hard work to grow into a business. It sounds like it would be worth it though, just to have that feeling of “I did it!” XD
        But I’ll definitely be giving it more thought over the coming months. I could at least try it and see how I feel. 🙂

        Like

  2. This is great! I completely understand wanting your space to be useful. I had a blog where I only shared my finished projects and it kind of felt like a never ending show and tell. I hated it! Having some purpose with my blog really helps me stay motivated and I hope it does for you too. I’m not a beginner but I’m excited to see your new posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀
      I like sharing my projects and stuff, but it feels like I’m just writing about myself, which bothers me a bit. I think that I’ll have more fun writing something for others vs writing about me. ^^’

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah, that’s a good idea! I don’t really know much about buying yarn online though. I usually buy yarn at the store because texture is important to me so I like to feel the yarn before I buy it. (Is that weird!? XD )
      But I’ve been giving a lot of thought to buying from a few online stores; I’ll definitely write about it if I do to give my recommendation. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great idea! Learning to knit can be a daunting prospect… So many people want to try, but it’s hard to know where to start. If you have space on your blog, you could include videos of the tricky bits too – I always find them super-useful! Good luck 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s one thing that I’ve been a little torn about, actually. I can’t decide if I should just do picture tutorials or if I should do videos of the complicated stuff. When I learn something new, I like using videos more than pictures because you can see the action, which is much more easy to learn from. But that’s just my opinion so I don’t know what others would prefer. Maybe I’ll do a poll or something? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

