life

Valentine fun time!

IMG_1867

Happy Valentine’s Day, all! ❤
(Even though I’m late…)

T and I went to the US Space and Rocket Center! (I know, we’re nerds~) We went through the museum, checked out all of the exhibits, played with all of the interactive stuff meant for children, and even took a bus tour. The tour took us onto a real military/NASA base to see one of the real operations centers for the International Space Station! Of course we were in a separate room, peering out at the people and screens through a thick glass, but it was amazing regardless! I could see real time orbit on the screen via a camera attached to the outside of the ISS. It was surreal watching the earth pass below the station. (Did you know it circles the earth once every 90 minutes!?)

IMG_1871

T and I watch a lot of space-related films together. Any time it shows the operations center in a film, it looks just like this so I felt like I was looking out onto a set rather than the real thing. The tour guide pointed out the people in charge of communicating with the astronauts as well. We could see her chatting away with someone over her headset. It’s really cool to think about how she was talking with someone floating up there in 0G, traveling over 17,000 MPH!

I took some pictures of the rockets they had displayed as well. It’s really hard to capture the size of these things on camera though. They’re so huge! I could easily park my car in one of those engines, just to give you an idea of the size.
The picture on the left is a rocket set up inside one of the buildings. It’s held up by pillars so that you can walk underneath it, and it’s so wide that 10 people could comfortably walk side by side beneath it. (If not more!)

When all was said and done, we had an awesome time at the museum. T still had other plans for our date, but we ended up having to put them off until the next day since we spent so long at the museum. Besides, who doesn’t love a two-part date!?

We spent day two doing some clothing shopping and eating out together, then we went to see the new Deadpool movie. I won’t write any spoilers or anything, but I will tell you that it was really, really good! If you’re a comic book fan, you’ll love it for sure. 😉

IMG_1894
Teaser for my first crochet pattern!

One last thing before I wrap this up, it was a very long drive to the space center so I got a lot of knitting and crochet in!

In fact, I have two new patterns on the way. I worked one pattern out the night before, and began working on the other during the drive.

I can’t wait to share them with y’all! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Valentine fun time!

Leave a Reply

