blog

Almost caught up!

I keep telling myself that I should only have two projects going at a time, one knit and one crochet, to keep myself from feeling overwhelmed. Needless to say I’ve been terrible at sticking to this! I can’t help that I immediately start a new project when I see a cool new pattern, especially if I happen have all the yarn I need at home already. It’s an almost irresistible urge!

Luckily, I’m doing much better about it. I’ve worked on all of my lingering projects, finishing all but one! (And the one that’s left is something that I started last month so it hasn’t been waiting long.) Now that I have my hooks and needles all freed up, I want to try keeping myself limited to two patterns at a time. Wish me luck, ha ha!

In my last post, I talked about this awesome shrug pattern that I want to crochet. I promised myself that my next project would be that shrug, but I got the itch to crochet something after writing that post. I don’t have all the yarn I need for the shrug anyway. It’s okay to go ahead and crochet something to scratch that itch, right?

I like to think that it was the right thing to do because I finished a project that’s been waiting for two years! It feels pathetic because it’s a basic project that I could’ve finished in a day, if I had stuck with it. Oh well, at least it’s finished now!

So, I present to you my newest finished projects!

Yes, I finally finished the Iron Man gloves! I started these back in April 2014, but I couldn’t figure out how to make the cuffs match for each hand. (The pattern author didn’t provide that information. I guess I’m just a dummy for not being able to figure it out?) I gave up after struggling with it for several days. It’s taken me all this time to finally pick my hook up and make the matching glove. Honestly, I still couldn’t figure out how to match them up so both sets are a little funky still.

The set on the left is mine; I wanted to stick with the traditional Iron Man colors. The set on the right were for T. He had to be a rebel and asked for some with a War Machine color scheme. Cool, right!?

I crocheted both of the gloves for T’s set in one day, and I finished the other half of my set the next day. It really didn’t take that long. The most time consuming part was weaving in the ends, really. Maybe one day I’ll fix the messed up cuffs, but I think they’re fine for now. It’s hard to tell that they’re messed up unless you’re really looking… Right?

14 thoughts on “Almost caught up!

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself about having lots of projects going at once. If I start a large project I get bored with it after awhile. So I will do a couple of quick projects like beanies, wrist warmers(similar to your ironman gloves) or a phone cozy/cover. Then I can go back to that big project. Oh and if a see a really cute beanie pattern for my new grandson I try it right away too. As of now I have a hooded scarf, a triangle shawl and a heart beanie going. The shawl is made from small balls of scrap so I just work on it when I have a few.
    Well anyway, I also wanted to thank you for liking my posts ” A Cap for Me Pap” and ” Wrist Warmers for Oldest Brother, Jay” on OUR RETIRED LIFE. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m the same way about large projects. I have to have at least a couple small projects to work on the side or I get bored. Mostly I’m trying to limit the amount of small projects that I’m doing since I know I can complete them quickly and easily if I just set my mind to it. 🙂

      Thank you as well for liking, commenting, and subscribing! I appreciate it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

