blog

Top 10 (free) knitting patterns

I find myself spending a lot of time on Ravelry. More often than not, I’m just browsing to see what I can find rather than looking for something specific. My library is swollen to ridiculous proportions with all of the cool patterns that I’ve found, so I thought it would be fun to post the ones that I’m most excited about trying. Maybe y’all will like some of them too.

(NOTE: None of these are my patterns. Also, I haven’t made any of these before. These are kind of my goal projects. I will know I’m a knitting master when I’ve made them all. XD )

  1. The Legend of Baby Link
    I am a huge Legend of Zelda fan so when I found this knitted Link outfit, I knew that I had to make it. I still haven’t tried it yet, but maybe today, maybe tomorrow. Or I could just wait until I have a baby. That’s probably a better idea.
  2. Hobbit Dress
    I honestly don’t know why this pattern is named this. It’s more of a fantasy-like coat or cloak than a dress? Regardless, it’s a really cool pattern! I saw a similar style jacket at the renaissance fair last year, except it was leather. (So it was waaaaay expensive!) I was so happy when I found this knitted alternative. And the corset-style lacing is pretty too~
  3. Link’s Gauntlets
    Another Legend of Zelda item! These are knitted versions of Link’s gauntlets, complete with the Triforce on the back of the hand. I really wanted to make an entirely crocheted Link cosplay, but I’ve decided to just whip up a regular costume with my sewing machine. I definitely want to use the knitted gauntlets though.
    (NOTE: For the hook-lovers, there’s also a crochet version! Thought I’d post it here instead of including it in the upcoming “top 10 crochet patterns” post.)
  4. Hermione’s Everyday Socks
    I’ve already talked about these patterns before, but I couldn’t help linking them here anyway. The woman who writes these patterns made a whole series of Harry Potter themed socks, and they’re so beautiful. One of my other favorite is the Weasley Homestead set.
  5. Reyna
    I wasn’t a shawl person at all before. I didn’t think that they were stylish and could be worn anyway that looks decent on me. Wrong again! I love the way they drape when wrapped scarf-like around the neck and shoulders. This pattern is actually one of the ones that changed my mind about shawls.
  6. Cunning Jayne Hat
    I’ve said before that I’m a huge nerd, and what nerd doesn’t doesn’t love a good sci-fi series. Even though Firefly was short-lived, it’s by far one of my most favorite shows. So of course when I learned how to knit, one of the first things I looked for was Jayne’s hat! I’m going to try knitting a basic hat first to make sure I understand how to do it, then I’ll work on this baby! It’ll be shiny!
  7. Eiku
    Another beautiful shawl. I love the lace work, and the alternating stockinette/garter stitch rows. So pretty~
  8. Jamestown
    I’ve already decided that if I ever get around to making a sweater, this is the one! I love the texture of the stitching, and the larger fit is great too. I like to wear things that are a couple sizes too big for me because I like to wear leggings as pants and larger items will cover my booty. (People who say that leggings aren’t pants are probably the same people who picked Bulbasaur as a starter Pokemon. :P)
  9. Sagebrush
    I love shrugs! They’re cute and quirky looking, and they add a bit of interest to what might otherwise be a plain t-shirt/tank top. The only problem is that I’ve never been able to find one that fit me properly. Hands down the best thing about knitting my own things is that I can make them special for me. I can finally have the perfect shrug!
  10. Nurmilintu
    I know that this will be the third shawl that I’ve posted here, but it really deserves the attention. I really love the shape of this one, the way it tapers from one side to the other. Or maybe it’s more accurate to say that it has a rounded shape? The stitching along the edge is beautiful too. When I get around to making a shawl, I think that this will be my first one.

Well, those are my picks for my top 10 favorite knitting patterns to date. I might revisit this idea again when I discover some other patterns. I tend to stockpile them in my Ravelry library so I’m sure I’ll come up with others eventually.

Do you have a pattern or two that you just adore? Or maybe that one project that you feel will mark your ascent into knitting mastery? Let me know in the comments! 😀

12 thoughts on “Top 10 (free) knitting patterns

    1. I managed to find some sock yarn buried in my stash a couple days ago so I’m going to try making some soon.
      I have to finish the socks I’m already working on, but reading your comment made me want to start right now. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha ha, no, I only have one project going on right now anyway. I think now’s the perfect time to start~

        And I knooooow! I probably need to limit my time on Ravelry to keep myself from finding them. XD

        Liked by 1 person

  1. How hard was it to narrow it down to just ten patterns? I think my head would explode… I try to stay off Ravelry to avoid temptation, but then I read these posts and feel tempted again 😳😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely wasn’t easy. It took me a week to write that post because I had to go through my library about a hundred times to make sure I was picking the best ones.
      I’m thinking about making some more posts like this in the future because there were so many other amazing patterns that didn’t make this one. XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

