blog

Do you know a Bigfoot?

IMG_1791
Everything’s progressing according to plan… Mweh heh heh~

I’ve managed to almost finish one for realsies sock without any major mess-ups! I turned the heel, picked up stitches, and joined the gusset flawlessly. I even tried the sock on last night; it fit me almost perfectly. The only problem is this pair was supposed to be for my dad. Oops?

I’m starting to worry that these socks will never see the light of my dad’s feet. (wat?) I might end up keeping them for myself if they end up too small. Hopefully they’ll stretch out a little once I block them. Or maybe the fit will improve as I continue down the foot.

What does all of this have to do with Bigfoot? Welly, well, well, reader, I will tell you now~

My dad has huge feet. He’s a US size 13, and anyone who has tried finding a sock pattern for size 13 feet will know that it’s very difficult, especially if you’re looking for something simple and beginner-friendly. (I don’t know enough about socks to wing it yet.)

Luckily, I managed to find a pattern someone posted on their blog. It wasn’t on Ravelry so I had to dig through Google until I found it. Looking for it was super time consuming so I wanted to post the link here for others who may have a Bigfoot in the family. šŸ˜‰

Bigfoot Socks by Linda

I like that this pattern calls for the yarn to be doubled; it knits up so much faster! And I’m using worsted weight (even though the pattern calls for DK yarn) so it’s easy to see what I’m doing. They’re knitting up so thick and warm! Perfect for pulling on with snow boots or wearing indoors while curled up on the coach with some hot tea~
(Not that my dad would do that last part, but it’s definitely what I’ll be doing when I make mine!)

IMG_1789
I showed Dad my handiwork when I visited the other day, and he absolutely loved them! I was nervous because he doesn’t generally gush or show excitement; I was worried I wouldn’t be able to tell if he liked them or not! But he really did gush this time, which was fun. I can’t wait to hand them over now!

6 thoughts on “Do you know a Bigfoot?

  1. I suspect socks may be a good way to get non gushers to want knitted things. Even the troglodytes (who usually treat knitted items with fear they might be for them) were swayed by socks….. Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! My knitted gifts are generally well-received, but that may be because I’ve only gifted to people who also knit (so they know how time consuming it can be) or to family (so they have to gush). XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting technique to use the yarn double-stranded. That would be a great way to “up-size” a sock pattern – same number of stitches, but a larger needle and double-stranded yarn. With some experimentation, that might be useful – something I will make a note to try. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely a good idea. I hadn’t thought about doing it myself, but I had seen others do it before. It’s definitely a technique that I’ll be using again. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

