blog

Let’s try some Fair Isle knitting!

During the holiday gift-knitting rush, I thought long and hard about what I wanted to learn this year in regards to needlework. Up until now, I’ve only knitted with one color and avoided all patterns that require anything with multiple colors. (Unless it’s made with variegated yarn and such.) The idea of knitting with multiple colors excited yet terrified me, so I ended up putting off Fair Isle and Intarsia in the past.

While I was visiting with my parents earlier this week, I got a wild hair and decided to try knitting a small swatch in the Fair Isle style. I even happened to have a couple balls of Sugar’n Cream in my bag! I thought back to the videos I watched on YouTube and dove right in. (I used this video and this video, in case anyone is interested.)

20160113_145330-01

I used the two-handed method where you hold one color Continental-style and the other English-style. It was actually pretty easy! I had this little swatch worked up in just a few minutes. It may not look that nice, but the fact that I have the technique down makes me very happy~

I’m currently making some long delayed socks for my dad, but once I finish, I really want to try making a hat with a colorwork design. I haven’t knitted a hat before so combining that fact with my lack of colorwork experience will make this my most complicated project to date. I can’t wait to get started on it!

Now that I have the basics of Fair Isle down, I think my next goal will be to try Intarsia. I’ve heard it’s even easier so I’m feeling positive about it. Can’t wait to see what I can make now that I have these skills down. 😉

9 thoughts on “Let’s try some Fair Isle knitting!

  1. I’m in the process of learning some colorwork too! It’s fun but quite a challenge. I’ve heard you can work inside-out and that helps to keep the floats more even–have you any tricks?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only done it once or twice now for practice so I don’t know what kind of advice I can give that would be helpful. 🙂

      One thing I learned from practicing is don’t pull your yarn too tight or it’ll pucker. But you also can’t leave it too loose or it’ll leave huge loops that can get caught up on stuff. What I did was stretch the stitches across the needle a little, then bring the yarn around. That way it won’t leave a pucker, but it won’t be too loose either.

      These are the videos I used to learn fair isle knitting, in case you would like to see them. 🙂

      Like

    1. Aw, I’m sorry to hear that! I think that my first attempt was just luck. I’m starting to worry that I couldn’t do it again if I tried. XD

      If you haven’t tried already, I definitely recommend finding some videos on YouTube. It’s so much easier to learn techniques when you can see how someone else handles their yarn and such. 🙂

      Like

      1. I can totally understand that. I feel the same way about blankets. 🙂

        I am excited about trying a sweater though. Something about the idea of curling up in a smooshy sweater that I made makes me happy. XD

        Like

Leave a Reply

