blog

Christmas Throwback

Happy new year, all!

I just wanted to put that out there before I start this entry in earnest.
Yes, I know it’s been almost two weeks since New Years Day. Yes, I have been terribly slow at putting out entries over the past few weeks. Luckily things are quieting down after the holiday rush so now I can focus on the important things in life. Like my current projects. 😉

Today, I wanted to show off some of the things I made over the holiday season this year. Some of these things I made to give to others, some of them were made upon request for family to give to friends. I had a lot of fun making all of them though so I’m happy to be able to share them.

I’ve talked before about how bad I am at picking presents for others. I guess I carried that on this year as well. I got a couple “oh, um… nice” reactions and one “what is it?”

Oops? Maybe I need to start adding tags to them that say what they are.

IMG_1752
Pattern: Just try it….

I made this neck warmer for my father-in-law to match the hat from last year. It also happens to match his coat. (The one in the picture is T’s, but they both have the same one.)

I really liked this pattern because I feel like men probably don’t want long scarves trailing from their necks, especially when they’re outside working. This neck warmer fits closely, and it’s folded over so you get double the warmth. Another great thing about it is that you can unfold it and pull it up over your mouth and nose for those extra windy days. I’m about to make one for myself since I don’t like how stuffing scarves down my jacket makes me look puffy, ha ha!

Speaking of scarves, I made a grand total of 3 this season. The recipient of the first one liked it so much that I was requested to make two more in other colors. How flattering!

Unfortunately, I don’t know what pattern this is or where to find it. My friend verbally taught me how to make these when I first started knitting. If I ever find a written pattern, I’ll link it here. If not, I might post the pattern myself later.

These scarves are really quick to work up since they’re made with super bulky yarn and huge needles. They’re great for a beginning knitter or for short notice gifting. It took me about one and a half Star Wars films to finish one, roughly 3 hours, so I was able to finish them up and deliver them pretty quickly while I binge watched the original trilogy.

IMG_1737Those of you who follow my blog may have already seen my boot cuffs pattern, which means you’ll have seen this already as well. For those who didn’t see that entry, these boot cuffs were made for my mother-in-law using that pattern.

Originally, I made these for me, but I ended up gifting them to my mother-in-law. They wound up being too big for me once I started losing weight, which is totally fine. Not complaining one bit!

The next couple of holiday projects weren’t necessarily for Christmas, but my mom asked me to make these right in the middle of my other gift-making attempts. I’ll go ahead and include them since technically they were made during the holiday season.

My mom is way into the Isaac Mizrahi yarn line for some reason. As soon as she saw that Michael’s had stocked his yarn, she wasted no time in grabbing a couple patterns and asking me to make her some pieces.

Now I’m going to be completely honest, one of these patterns was ugly as sin, in my opinion. I tried so hard to get her to give Ravelry a visit because I knew she could find prettier patterns with just a click of a button. My mom is stubborn, however, and even though I felt like she should listen to my obviously expert advice (Hey, I know way more about this than she does!), she insisted on the pattern she picked up.

Part of me is saying this to justify the ugliness of this project, and part of me just wants to get it off my chest because I never told Mom how ugly I thought the pattern actually was. So without delay, I will finally reveal my last two holiday projects.

The pattern on the left is Isaac Mizrahi’s Central Park Knit Snood. I actually liked how this one came out. It was done entirely in mistake rib so it was simple enough that I could watch TV while I worked on it. And it looks great on my mom so yay!

The pattern on the right however… This is the Margate Hood pattern by Lion Brand, and it makes the wearer look like a Sanrio mascot or something. To be fair, it could be because I couldn’t talk my mom into using the yarn called for in the pattern. (Though I was able to reach gauge with the Isaac Mizrahi stuff.) It probably looks completely different when made correctly so maybe it was unfair to say that the pattern was ugly. The finished result was what was ugly.

All in all, I made 7 items during the holiday season. And even though T offered to help with the gift load by buying for some of his family, I still ended up making more than I did last year somehow, ha ha!

At least I can focus on my own knitting desires now that the holidays are finished! I’m excited to share what I’ve been learning recently so please stick around if you want to see more of my work!

Thank you everyone for reading! Again, happy new year! 😀

Leave a Reply

