blog

Just in time for Christmas!

Since I started doing needlework, I’ve handmade all my Christmas presents every year. Not only does it help me get some practice making things I might not otherwise make, but I get to use up a huge part of my yarn stash. And it makes me really happy to see someone excitedly accept a piece I’ve made for them.

My family doesn’t actually celebrate Christmas, so I make stuff for my husband’s family instead. Though I’m probably lucky that I don’t have to make presents for my family since it’s double the size of T’s family, ha ha! (Not to mention that my mom likes to keep me busying making things for her. Learn to knit already, Mom!)

This year T and I had to compromise on gift-giving. I cut down on my gifts to give him a chance to give gifts of his own. (Since I accidentally took over last year. Oops!) I decided to make gifts for just his mom and dad this year so that he could get whatever he wanted for his brothers and grandparents. This is probably for the best anyway since my mom decided to throw a couple extra projects my way this month.

I don’t think I’ll post the presents I made this year until after Christmas, but I thought it’d be fun to post what I made last year. Maybe it’ll give someone some last minute gift inspiration!

IMG_1545
Pattern: Grandmother’s Favorite

Honestly, I’m kind of bad at figuring out what gifts to give for Christmas. In my experience, a lot of people don’t like for you to ask what they want, but that’s my preferred method. Let’s just say what we want so there’s no more agonizing, ‘kay!?

I think I hesitate the most when I’m trying to figure out what to get for other women. I’ve been told before that I’m not very woman-like because I enjoy receiving tools and video games as gifts. (Get me a set of stubby ratchets and a copy of Arkham Knight for PC, stat!) So I have no idea what someone who’s not me wants for Christmas.

I ended up making the above washcloths for both my mother-in-law and T’s Nana. They’re practical. Everyone uses washcloths every day so I knew they’d be used. And secretly I had been wanting to try this pattern. It’s knit from corner to corner to make the diagonal garter stitch, which I thought was really cool. I got to practice a lot of increasing and decreasing.

IMG_1618_medium2
Pattern: Super Fast & Easy Unisex Brim hat

This next gift is going to make zero sense without some backstory. It was for my father-in-law… Let me reiterate that.

I made this hat with the cute turtle applique for my father-in-law.

He seemed to really like it too~

Here’s the story in as few words as possible: when I first started crocheting, I made a hat for T that looked just like the iron helmet from Skyrim. His family loved it and his dad asked me to make him a turtle hat. He wanted an actual hat that looks like an actual turtle, floppy legs and everything. I almost made that hat for him, but then I remembered that he’s a mechanic. He can’t drive around making road calls with a crochet turtle head flopping in his face. So I compromised a little by making a turtle applique for this hat instead.

Someday I’ll make the turtle hat for him. Maybe next year.

IMG_1651
Pattern: Final Fantasy Cactaur (Yes, it’s misspelled. Blame the pattern author!)

Last but not least, any Final Fantasy fans ought to recognize these immediately!

These cactuars were gifts for my brother-in-laws. We’re all huge FF fans so I enjoyed the heck out of making them! I almost didn’t want to give them away, ha ha!

These particular cactuars are supposed to be from FF7 and FF8 since those are the favorites of the house. The mustache on Jumbo Cactuar was so hard to stitch on! The sides kept coming out uneven, and I even stitched it on lopsided once. But it was so satisfying when I finally got it right. Made the whole thing worth it~

I got some requests over Thanksgiving for more FF plushies this year, but that’ll have to wait until next year. I found an amazing pattern for a Chocobo. I might just make that for me though, ha ha!

I’m so excited to get right down to the gift-giving! I hope that everyone likes what I made~

If you’re making gifts this year, leave me a comment and tell me about it! Or you can leave a comment if you just want to talk! I’d love to hear some feedback or suggestions!

Leave a Reply

