blog

First post: Hello?

Whew, writing the first post is hard! I’ve spent the past 10 minutes just trying to figure out how to break the ice.

I guess I can start with this: my name is Rachel. I’ve been crocheting and knitting for a couple years now. I used to think that needlework was something only elderly women did. The only examples I had seen of knitted or crochet pieces were ancient lace doilies, lumpy hats, and frumpy old sweaters. Boring… Or so I thought. I couldn’t have been more wrong!

I have Pinterest to thank for my interest in needlework. I accidentally found all kinds of wonderfully nerdy projects such as Dwarven beards and helmets, Star Wars amigurumi, and video game-inspired accessories. I think what finally convinced me to finally start learning was a Batman pom-pom hat. (Huge Batman fan here!)

Initially, I was only interested in crochet. I didn’t know anyone else who was into needlework and knitting looked too hard. When my mother-in-law assured me that crochet was super easy, I ran to the nearest store and bought my first crochet hook and a skein of Red Heart.

img_20130927_102454
I gave up shortly after this.

My first crochet project was an ugly granny square blanket that I never finished. At the time, I was just excited to start my first project. I had no idea how much I would come to hate blankets! (In fact, I still haven’t finished this blanket.)

A few months later, I met someone else who was just getting into needlework as well. She was a knitter. I was amazed that she was able to make scarves and blankets using nothing but straight needles. It seemed like nothing short of magic!
We made a deal that I would teach her how to crochet if she could help me knit. And that’s how I met my first yarn-buddy.

We later met up at our local craft store, where she helped me pick out my first set of needles and got me started on my first knitted project.

IMG_20140219_151901_medium2
Don’t drop that stitch!

This project marked the beginning of my love for scarves. (I really hadn’t worn scarves much before.) Unfortunately I dropped a stitch half-way through, and it ripped all the way down to the bind-off edge before I noticed it. It didn’t upset me too badly though. I was able to pull it apart and remake it into a prettier scarf.

Before long, I found myself attempting all kinds of projects that I never would have imagined myself making. I even attempted my largest project yet when I knit myself a poncho! That was certainly a test of my patience, but I learned a lot from the experience.

And I have a nice new poncho to keep me warm this winter so there’s that too.

5 thoughts on “First post: Hello?

Leave a Reply

